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Attached are two clips which illustrate the necessity of understanding and 

applying correctly the Law regarding when a goalkeeper has a ball in control and 
thus when a ball may or may not be played.  It is well established that a ball 
which is controlled by the goalkeeper cannot be legally played by an opponent.  
Less clear, perhaps, is when goalkeepers relinquish that control by releasing the 
ball into play. 
 
 The first clip is from an English professional match.  The goalkeeper has 
the ball in his hands and then, apparently not realizing that an opponent remains 
behind him, sets the ball on the ground with the obvious intent of playing it to a 
teammate.  The opponent, however, runs up from the goalkeeper’s right, steps 
in, and kicks the ball into the net for a goal. 
 
 In the second clip (an international match between Trinidad-Tobago and 
Bahrain), we again have the ball clearly controlled by the goalkeeper who tosses 
it slightly into the air with the obvious intent of punting the ball away.  An 
opponent, who was following the goalkeeper’s movement forward from the right 
hand side, kicks the ball as it leaves the goalkeeper’s hands and is approximately 
chest high. 
 
 The critical difference between these two situations, and why the goal 
must count in the first but not in the second, hinges on when the goalkeeper has 
released the ball into play.  By placing the ball on the ground, the English 
Premier goalkeeper had relinquished control.  The Trinidad-Tobago goalkeeper 
was still in the process of releasing the ball when it was kicked by the opponent – 
it was still in the control of the goalkeeper even though it was not physically in his 
hands.  The “toss into the air” was merely preparatory to or an integral part of the 
distribution process.   
 



Accordingly, the “act of distribution” includes the process of setting the ball 
on the ground, throwing the ball away, punting the ball (kicking it directly from the 
release), and drop kicking the ball (kicking the ball after it is released and hits the 
ground).  An opponent commits an offense by challenging for the ball before any 
of these acts of distribution is completed.  An opponent may also commit an 
offense if the opponent is so close to the goalkeeper that an attempt to challenge 
for the ball immediately following the act of distribution would, in the opinion of 
the referee, be considered interference with the release of the ball into play or as 
playing in a dangerous manner. 
 
 The current “Questions and Answers on the Laws of the Game” includes a 
question regarding this matter (#19 under Law 12).  FIFA asks if it is permitted for 
an opponent to play the ball before it hits the ground “as a goalkeeper releases 
the ball to kick it into play” and answers that it is not because “the releasing of the 
ball” and “the kicking of the ball” are considered to be “a single action.” 
 
Click for referenced video clip #1 
(LAW_12__GK___CONTROL_Bahrain_vs_Trinidad_Tobago_2.wmv) 
 
Click for referenced video clip #2 
(LAW_12__GK_CONTROL_England.mpg 
 


