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The 115" Annual Meeting of the International Football Association Board (IFAB) met on
March 10, 2001, and dealt with various matters, including its publication last year of a
revised Questions and Answers on the Laws of the Game. Question 10 under Law
14 reads:

A player taking a penalty kick feints before kicking the ball. Is this permitted?
Yes.

The International Board has reasoned that, since a penalty kick is awarded for a
violation which otherwise would cause play to be restarted with a direct free kick, the
team taking the kick should have at least some of the same latitude which is given for a
direct free kick restart. It is permissible to feint at the taking of a direct free kick
(Question 6 under Law 13 notes that "feinting tactics to confuse opponents” are
permitted and are "part of football").

Nevertheless, referees must still decide if any particular action by the kicker is clearly
unsporting. An example of this was seen recently in a pre-season MLS game. The
kicker ran past the ball, backed up, during which time various players (teammates and
opponents) entered the penalty area, the penalty arc, or moved closer than 12 yards
from the goal line, and the goalkeeper moved off the line. This sort of conduct, which
produced mass confusion, should be whistled immediately upon seeing the movement
past the ball, the kicker cautioned, and play resumed in accordance with Law 14.

The kicker should also be considered guilty of misconduct if his behavior before actually
kicking the ball results in unnecessary delay in restarting play (for example, by
excessively changing direction during the run to the ball). Where possible, this also
should be dealt with before the ball is kicked.

However, in situations where the manner of taking the kick is deemed unsporting but the
referee is unable to stop play before the kick occurs, the referee must follow Law 14 by
allowing the kick to proceed. If the ball goes into the goal, the penalty kick is retaken
after cautioning the kicker for unsporting behavior. If the ball does not enter the goal,
play continues and the kicker should be cautioned at the next stoppage of play.
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