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Restarts after Striking, Throwing or Spitting

Restarts for stoppages of play due to fouls and/or misconduct are normally
placed where the foul or misconduct occurred. Penalty kick restarts and restarts
inside the goal area are common exceptions to this principle. Determining where
the foul/misconduct occurred is relatively easy when direct player-to-player
contact (e. g., tripping, pushing, charging) or player-to-ball contact (deliberate
handling) is involved. It is the point of contact which determines the location of
the infringement and therefore the correct restart. The location of the rest of the
infringing player is irrelevant.

Problems can arise, however, when the foul/misconduct does not involve direct
contact. Law 12, for example, includes as penal fouls attempting to trip, kick, or
strike. Spitting is also a penal foul which does not require direct contact at all
(both attempts and successful acts are punished). Finally, striking can include
the use of thrown objects which, like spitting, may or may not be successful in
actually making contact with the victim.

The International Football Association Board (IFAB) has recently provided a new
interpretation of where a foul has occurred when there has been no direct contact
or when the contact has occurred off the field of play. Prior to now, for example,
striking using a thrown object was punished where the action originated (see
USSF Aadvice to Referees on the Laws of the Game 12.6, which will be updated
in 2001). The IFAB now instructs that all such infringements are to be punished
where the contact occurs or would have occurred if the action had been
successful, provided this location is on the field of play. The July 2000 version
of FIFA’s Questions and Answers to the Laws of the Game incorporates this new
interpretation and referees in the United States should begin to implement this
guidance immediately.

The following six cases illustrate the International Board's interpretation on
restarts for striking, whether done with the hand or with an object. When reading
these cases, please remember that:

a. "objects" can be the ball, shoes, stones, dirt clods, etc.;

b. in all the cases covered in this memorandum, spitting should be treated as
striking, except that the referee’s match report must say that the player was
sent off for spitting at an opponent, not violent conduct;

c. if the ball was not in play when the striking took place, when the ball or an
object was thrown, or when a participant spat at an opponent or any other
person, the restart can be only for the reason that the ball was out of play.
The misconduct will be punished as indicated.



Case 1 (Q&A 12.1 8) Striking an opponent or throwing a ball or object
from within the player's own penalty area (or spitting at an opponent)

1a. The goalkeeper, standing within his own penalty area, strikes or throws the
ball or an object violently at an opponent standing outside the penalty area. The
goalkeeper must be sent off for violent conduct and shown the red card.
Whether the blow or the ball/object strikes the opponent or not, the restart is a
direct free kick from the place where the opponent was when the blow, ball or
object was thrown at him. (If the opponent was within the penalty area at the
moment the goalkeeper threw the ball or object, the restart is a penalty kick.)

1b. The punishment and restart are the same as above if another player strikes
or throws an object from within his own penalty area at an opponent standing
outside the penalty area. (If the opponent was within the penalty area at the
moment the player threw the ball or object, the restart is a penalty kick.)

1c. A player other than the goalkeeper throws the ball from within his own penalty
area at an opponent standing outside the penalty area. The player is sent off for
violent conduct and shown the red card, but the restart is a penalty kick, because
the player deliberately handled the ball within his own penalty area before
throwing it at the opponent.

Case 2 (Q&A 12.1 8) Striking an opponent or throwing an object into
the penalty area

2a. While the ball is in play, a player throws an object (shoe, dirt clod, etc.) at the
opposing goalkeeper who is standing inside his own penalty area. Whether the
object hit the goalkeeper or not, the restart is a direct free kick where the
goalkeeper was standing (not from where the throw was initiated.

2b. While the ball is in play, a fullback standing outside his own penalty area
throws an object at an opponent who is inside the fullback's penalty area. The
restart is a penalty kick.

2c. While the ball is in play, a player outside his penalty area picks up the ball
and throws it at an opponent. Regardless of where the opponent is standing, the
restart is a direct free for the deliberate handling.

In all three situations under Case 2, the thrower is sent off for violent conduct and
shown the red card.



Case 3 (Q&A 1219) Player on field strikes or throws the ball or an
object at an opponent or other person off the field of play

3a. With the ball in play, a player on the field strikes or throws an object at an
opponent or other person off the field of play. The restart is an indirect free kick
for the opponent's team from the place where the striking was initiated because
play was stopped for the violent conduct (misconduct).

3b. A player on the field picks up the ball and throws it at an opponent or other
person off the field of play. The restart is a direct free kick from the place where
the ball was deliberately handled.

In both cases, the thrower is sent off for violent conduct and shown the red card.

Case 4 (Q&A 1220) A player or substitute off the field strikes or
throws an object at an opponent on the field while the ball is in play. The player
or substitute must be ordered off for violent conduct and shown the red card.
The restart is a dropped ball at the place where the ball was when the blow or
object was thrown. (The misconduct was not committed by a player on the field
and so stopping for this misconduct requires a dropped ball).

Case 5 (Q&A 3.13): A substitute of Team A enters the field of play
without permission and is struck by an opponent (Team B) while the ball is in
play. The opponent (Team B) is sent off for violent conduct and shown the red
card. The substitute (Team A) is cautioned for illegally entering the field. The
game is restarted with an indirect free kick for Team A from the place where the
contact occurred. No foul was committed in this case and so the stoppage was
for misconduct committed by a player on the field.

In this situation, if the referee had already decided to stop play for the illegal entry
before the opponent struck the substitute, the restart would be a dropped ball at
the place where the ball was when the referee decided to stop play.



Case 6 (Q&A 153) Throwing the ball at an opponent at a throw-in

6a. If a legal throw-in was not thrown carelessly, recklessly or with excessive
force and had no effect on the player who was struck, there is no infringement of
the Law.

6b. If a legal throw-in was thrown at an opponent carelessly, recklessly, or with
excessive force, the referee should call the foul and/or the misconduct. If there
was misconduct, the thrower should either be cautioned for unsporting behavior
and shown the yellow card (if the action was reckless) or sent off for violent
conduct and shown the red card (if the action involved excessive force). In both
cases, the restart would be a direct free kick from the place where contact (would
have) occurred.

6¢c. In the case of an illegal throw-in, one not taken in accordance with the
requirements of Law 15, the thrower may still be punished as in 6b. The restart
would be a throw-in by the opposing team because the throw-in was not taken in
accordance with Law 15 and therefore the misconduct occurred during a
stoppage of play.

NOTE: For all direct and indirect free kick or dropped ball restarts noted in this
memorandum the referee must remember the special circumstances of Law 8
(restarts within the goal area).
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